Thoughts On White Women Stereotypes

Let’s face it, some stereotypes exist for a reason and white women are no exception. Since this is my general demographic, it would be idle to deny it as a factor in how I approach, talk, and date them.

white.jpg

For example, it’s in my best interest to assess how close they may be to the suburban/privileged white girl stereotype. Red flags may include, but not limited to, the following:

  • Hiring someone to walk their dogs – in a kid’s stroller
  • Dealing with the same adversities you dealt with when you were 15
  • #Blessed or “everything happens for a reason
  • Making a duck face while posing for a photo
  • Talking in acronyms – “O.M.G. this is, like, my jam!
  • Claiming to be a nerd b/c they once read a graphic novel
  • Saying “if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you don’t deserve me at my best”
  • Or “I love nutella, uggs, leggings, Victoria’s Secret bags and Katy Perry
  • Complicating Starbucks orders
  • Facebook check-ins
  • Googling themselves

instagram-starbucks

04I hate to sound fatalistic but I’m quite confident that if I bring one of these gals back to my neighborhood, they would think differently about the relationship. Now, I’m not exactly saying I live in the ghetto but my area has a few salient traits that rub some folks the wrong way. Last week at midday, I went to get my mail and there was a man in the dirt speaking absolute drivel to himself and smoking a glass pipe, possibly crack but I’m not sure. Remember,this was in broad daylight, he doesn’t live in my building and is a complete stranger. My neighborhood isn’t dangerous but if you’re not accustomed to these types of areas, it’s easy to become disillusioned.

Recently, I invited a woman over for dinner. Like me, she’s a NYC transplant. Dinner was great but it was obvious from the few palatable comments she made about my street that I was going to have to walk her back to the train at the end of the night. And, I did. It’s never elucidated but, instead, tacitly agreed upon that she won’t be coming back here again. So much for my bachelor pad.

Full disclosure, I’m not saying that I don’t embody a few lame stereotypes myself (after all, I do author a blog) or that any of these traits are intrinsically abhorrent. Only some of them are.

-Single Guy in NYC
@SingleGuyInNYC

6 thoughts on “Thoughts On White Women Stereotypes

  1. I’m not privileged by any means but so many of these I’m guilty of and some I’m proud of! (who said VS bags? Love them!) I always think it’s nice to walk a lady back to her method of transportation… just saying 😉

Leave a Reply

